fim sidecar motocross world championship

Full WSC season planned for 2022


Full WSC season planned for 2022 – Provisional dates announced


Since the 2021 season closer in Oss, the WSC team, the FIM and circuit organisers across Europe have been frantically busy working on a full season for 2022. The provisional results of that effort are potentially a ten-round World Championship embracing at least three exciting new venues and organisers, including an eagerly awaited return to the UK in Northern Ireland.

Whilst the cloud of Covid-19 still hangs over mainland Europe, with several countries still lagging in their mass vaccination programmes, the clear evidence is that once those measures are fully implemented, the pandemic will be being managed, and to a large degree controlled. Hopes are therefore high that a full season of top-class racing will happen as planned.

There has been much discussion as to the format of the race weekend, and it was generally felt that if a smaller number of GP’s were to be scheduled (seven or less) then three points scoring races, as were implemented in 2021 would be preferable. If, however, there were to be ten or more GP’s on the table, then it would be possible to revert to the two-race format, and the usual qualifying race on Saturday. Either way, twenty or more races for points would happen. There were mixed views in and around the paddock as to which format should be used. That firm decision will be made as and when the final calendar is set in stone. Final details on France and Ireland are still underway and will be advised in due course.

All dates are provisional, based on the global situation remaining stable, with no radical changes in legislation between countries. The proposed calendar is listed as follows.


23/24 April – Netherlands Markelo

21/22 May – Czech Republic Jinin

11/12 June - Netherlands Oss

25/26 June - Ukraine Bucha

2/3 July – Estonia Lange

9/10 July – TBA pending final agreement

22/23 July – Ireland venue TBA

30/31 July – Germany Strassbessenbach

6/7 August – Ireland alternative option TBA

27/28 August – Czech Republic Dalecin

3/4 September – Slovenia Orehova Vas

17/18 September – Germany Rudersberg

24/25 September – Nations Czech Republic Kramolin